What Are The Main Changes In The New Ofsted Framework?

What are Ofsted looking for?

Inspections will focus on the real substance of education: the curriculum.

Ofsted grades will reflect the areas that matter most to parents: quality of education, behaviour and attitudes, personal development, and leadership and management..

How old is Ofsted?

The Office for Standards in Education (Ofsted) was formed under the Education (Schools) Act 1992, as part of the major overhaul and centralisation of the school system begun by the Education Reform Act 1988, which introduced the National Curriculum, extensive testing in schools and the publication of league tables.

What are the 4 Ofsted categories?

Currently, there are four overall judgements that Ofsted can reach about schools: Outstanding; Good; Requires Improvement; and Inadequate.

What is the latest Eyfs framework?

The Department for Education is to change the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in 2021. The government says the changes will improve outcomes for all children, but particularly the language and literacy outcomes for disadvantaged children and reduce teacher workload.

What does an Ofsted deep dive look like?

It is part of the Ofsted inspectors’ remit to monitor the 3 Is – Intent, Implementation and Impact – of the curriculum. From Ofsted’s guidance and the experiences of those who’ve gone through one already we know that an Ofsted deep dive involves lesson observations, book looks and discussions with subject leads etc.

What is the education inspection framework?

The education inspection framework (‘the framework’) applies to the inspection of different education, skills and early years settings to ensure comparability when learners2 move from one setting to another. It supports consistency across the inspection of different remits.

What is a good Ofsted rating?

Inspectors use a 4-point grading scale to make judgements during inspections: grade 1: outstanding. grade 2: good. grade 3: requires improvement.

What can trigger an Ofsted inspection?

Ofsted inspections are triggered differently if you’re a ‘new’ or established school….Then, they consider each case based on:The outcomes of any inspections carried out since the last routine inspection.Qualifying complaints by parents.Statutory warning notices.Any other significant concerns.

What does the new Ofsted framework say about reading?

In 2019, Ofsted made “how children are taught to read” a priority for inspections in schools. Under the new EIF, all “infant, junior, primary and lower-middle schools” will undergo a reading ‘deep dive. ‘ This is mandatory and includes phonics!

What are the 3 I’s in childcare?

What are the three ‘I’s?Intent.Implementation.Impact.

What is cultural capital in Eyfs?

Cultural capital is the essential knowledge that children need to prepare them for their future success. … It is about giving children the best possible start to their early education.

What is a deep dive in reading?

Reading Deep Dives consist of the following: Lesson observations (4 to 6 lessons) Scrutiny of books and pupils work (they’ll look at 6 pieces of work per year group, for at least 2 year groups) Discussions with a group of pupils who were in the lessons observed. Hearing children read age-appropriate unseen books.

Who reports to Ofsted?

Ofsted is the Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills. It reports directly to Parliament and is both independent and impartial. By law it must inspect schools with the aim of providing information to parents, to promote improvement and to hold schools to account.

What are the changes in the new Ofsted framework?

As governors will be well aware, Ofsted published a new inspection framework which has formed the basis of inspections since September. The new framework brings with it a number of changes: Outstanding schools are no longer exempt from inspections. Section 8 inspections will now last two days.

What are the 3 is Ofsted?

They unpick the new guidance from Ofsted, centring on curriculum intent, implementation and impact: the essential ‘three Is’ that all schools need to be able to plan for and articulate. … They also describe how schools can achieve the ‘three Is’ using the Cornerstones Curriculum.

What are Ofsted looking for in early years?

Personal development. Ofsted will be looking to see that your environment is highly stimulating, that children are extremely motivated and eager to join in with activities. … Your policies and procedures must be vigorous and high standards for care and hygiene and meeting the children’s personal needs are shown.

Do Ofsted observe NQTs?

NQT responsibilities In their discussions with headteachers, Ofsted inspectors will expect to receive a detailed list of all teachers and they will want to identify any NQTs.

How much notice do Ofsted give schools?

Notice of an inspection Ofsted will notify the school of its inspection at around midday on the working day before the start of the inspection. Ofsted can inspect any school without notice where judged appropriate. In such cases, the lead inspector will normally phone the school about 15 minutes before arriving.